Monday, December 16, 2013

Marvelous Middle-Grade Monday

ODD, WEIRD & LITTLE

by Patrick Jennings
From Goodreads: Readers who love Andrew Clements, Dan Gutman, Gordon Korman, and Tom Angleberger will find this charming, funny, easy-to-read middle-grade novel from the beloved Patrick Jennings an absolute hoot!
When the new kid joins his class, Woodrow agrees with his schoolmates--Toulouse is really weird. He's short - kindergarten short - dresses in a suit like a grandpa, has huge eyes, and barely says a word. But Woodrow isn't exactly Mr. Popularity. The frequent target of the class bully himself, he figures that maybe all Toulouse needs is a chance. 
And when the two are put together in gym to play volleyball, they make quite the team. Toulouse can serve, set, and spike like a pro. He really knows how to fly around the court. But when the attention and teasing switch back to Woodrow, he learns that the new kid is great at something else: being a friend.
Full of heart and laughs, Odd, Weird, and Little is another winner from the author of the state-list favorite, Guinea Dog.
Check out other MMGMers
and their links over at
Shannon Messenger's blog
My reviewWoodrow is mystified by the new kid at school. His name is Toulose, he’s from Canada, he’s extremely short, and he never takes off his hat and gloves. To add to his odd appearance, he has gigantic eyes and a pointy nose. Bullies pick on him immediately. Even though Woodrow would like to stop them, he doesn’t have much power since he’s a target of bullies as well. Woodrow develops a friendship with Toulose. Between Toulose’s oddness and strange talents and Woodrow’s convictions of right and wrong, they take on the bullies.
This was a delightful book. There’s quite a surprise at the end, although I had predicted it halfway into the book. My only issue is that I believe it could have been more than a chapter book, because a unique story like this deserves more layers, which means a higher word count. Still, I breezed through the book enthralled with Toulose and Woodrow. I read this via NetGalley, courtesy of the publisher. 
Follow my blog with Bloglovin

23 comments:

TBM said...

It sounds like a delightful book.

Alex J. Cavanaugh said...

Wears a suit? Didn't know that was a Canadian thing.

Natalie Aguirre said...

Sounds like a fun book, especially for younger readers.

DEZMOND said...

it sounds so delightful

L. Diane Wolfe said...

I'm still Kindergarten short.

Old Kitty said...

Awwwwww Toulose sounds utterly adorable!! I wanna hug him and buy him sweets! Awww! Take care
x

Cherie Reich said...

It sounds like such a fun book!

Laura Marcella said...

I love the title! This looks like a really great book. Thanks for the rec!

Happy reading and writing! from Laura Marcella @ Wavy Lines

Carrie-Anne said...

It sounds like a cute book. I actually thought that was an owl on the cover, before I read your review!

Lexa Cain said...

So sweet! I love when books for kids are encouraging and humorous - and have an important message. So...uh...Toulouse is really an owl? Like on the cover? Is that the secret? (You have me wondering now. Haha!)

Misha Gericke said...

Sounds like a sweet story. :-)

Maurice Mitchell said...

What a funny idea for a book. I think I know the twist but it still sounds like a fun book about friendship.

Jemi Fraser said...

How cute! I bet the kids will love this one :)

Stina Lindenblatt said...

That sounds adorable.

LOL at Alex's comment. It's definitely not a Canadian thing. But if he apologizes all the time, then that would be.

klahanie said...

I like your take on this, Medeia. I must say it does sound like easy reading. And a Canadian should really be wearing a toque, eh.

Gary :)

Leandra Wallace said...

I love Gordon Korman! If this is comparable then I'd prolly really enjoy it. Thx for the rec!

Shannon Lawrence said...

Sounds like a cute premise for a book, and handling bullying well in a book is always a good thing.

The Warrior Muse

Susan Oloier said...

I need to add this to my list. I think my older son would like it, too. He enjoys the Origami Yoda series.

DMS said...

I like the sound of this one! Sounds like a book that will help teach some important lessons. Thanks for the introduction. :)
~Jess

Robyn Campbell said...

I have to read this book, pal. It's just the kinda story my heart loves to read! :-)

Jocelyn Rish said...

It sounds like a very charming book.

Donna K. Weaver said...

I've got some grandsons who are in that right age group for this. Thanks for the heads up!

Deniz Bevan said...

Aww, this sounds really sweet.